Write On

This week will seem a little different than the past couple of weeks. I am going to stray away from talking about guitars a little bit and actually talk about one of my favorite topics; writing music. I will still include all of the different methods I use to write music and how I mix them with playing guitar.

To start, you don’t have to be a musician to write music. I know a bunch of poets who allow me to use their stuff and turn it into song. So don’t feel discouraged if you can’t play the piano, guitar or something in that category.

As you know, I am in a band, and I do the majority of the writing for the band. Some of my band mates ask for tips to help them and I tell them not to overthink it. A big problem people have is that they are too nervous or worried about what people will think, so they never get out what they want to say. Writing music is a way to be real with yourself. I tell them whatever is on their heart, or whatever they may be going through, write it down. Sad, happy, excited, hurt, any type of emotion can produce something. Some more tips I give them is any time they get inspiration, write it down or record it. Do whatever you have to do to remember it. Trust me, if you say that you will remember it five hours from now….you wont. My iPhone has about 70 plus voice memos of me just singing random words so I will remember it when I get home or get to my guitar.

Writing music doesn’t have to be perfect. It can be sloppy and may not make sense, but for me, I have to try to make it make sense in the best way I can. We have a lot of followers in our band that love our music, and love our style. So, I try to make sure I stick to that when I write. It is very important that each song is appealing, powerful, and not generic. Below is a picture of a small writing session I had in my room.FullSizeRender

Now a big question that a lot of young musicians have is whether you should start with lyrics or a melody first. To be honest, it could be either. Sometimes I am playing a few chords and start to hum a chorus or verse. Then boom, in an hour I have a new song. And then it could be totally vice versa.

I am no expert when it comes to writing music. Sometimes I write some really terrible songs, but sometimes I come out with some great stuff. This topic is so broad and there are so many things you could add to help young writers, but I just wanted to cover a few different things that I do that helps me write. Maybe it will help you! Don’t ever stop expressing yourself or let someone tell you that your music sucks, cause at the end of the day, it’s yours, and no one can take that away from you. So, write on.

Leave a Reply

