The Beautiful Sound

Last week we went over the basics of electric guitar, and, as promised, we will hit the acoustic side this week. There are so many things I could say about the acoustic guitar, but I can begin with my first acoustic as a starting point.

I’ll never forget my guitar teacher and my mom taking me to a guitar shop when I was 9 and bought me my first acoustic guitar. It was a Johnson guitar, which are really good starter guitars. It’s so funny because I hated that guitar. The strings sat so far off of the guitar and it would destroy my fingers when I was learning, but it was all worth it in the end. I wanted an electric guitar when I first started, but my teacher insisted that I continue with the acoustic until I was ready. I think this time period of being forced to love the acoustic guitar, actually made me love it genuinely. Fast forward to 2013, I was able to purchase my own acoustic. A good one to be exact. I bought a Taylor 114CE Acoustic Electric for $900, and I still play it to this day. In the acoustic world of guitar there are hundreds of brands just like electric, but some of the top dogs that stick out are Martin, Taylor, Takamine, Fender, and Gibson guitars. All of these are top notch, and rather expensive, but too a musician, they are well worth it. I prefer Taylor and Martin guitars over anything else, but that is my opinion. The others are still extremely popular.

The uniqueness of acoustics are that they provide freedom. You don’t have any chords attaching you to an amp. So, you can literally take it anywhere. There is also a special tone that comes from an acoustic. One you can’t replicate with an electric. It’s this tone that allows for more freedom. You can get a sincere, chill vibe from certain chords or notes played on an acoustic. It is almost euphoric.There also so many different styles that provide different sounds. Some of which are the use of a pick or finger picking. It can become very diverse.

I guess I can say that every guitarist should purchase an acoustic. And if you are new…start out with an acoustic, not electric. It will set a foundation that will allow you to better yourself, while at the same time, provide you with a musical freedom, and a beautiful sound.images-13

 

 

Leave a Reply

