Me, Myself, and My Guitar

Me, Myself, and My Guitar

Whats up guys? My name is Avery Dalton. I am a senior at Radford University in Virginia, and a long time musician. If you are reading this you may either play guitar, want to play guitar, or may have never picked up a guitar. Whatever the circumstances may be, I am sure you are in the right place. To start, I will give you a little info about my background with music and guitars.

When I was 8, I remember sitting and listening to Def Leppard, AC/DC, Poison, Guns and Roses, and many more in the back seat of my moms Ford Explorer. I always loved the guitar solos and riffs. I thought they were so cool. So, when I was 9 I told my parents I wanted to learn guitar and then my mom took me to get my first guitar. We then found a man at my church who gave me lessons. I took the lessons for 3 years and learned a ton. One clear thing that I remember was that I wanted an electric guitar because it was easier to play. He said, “Now is not the time. Once you’ve had enough time on this acoustic, then we can switch.” I am thankful that  he made me do that. Finally, when I was 14 my mom, dad, and guitar teacher bought me my first electric. A red sunburst Fender Telecaster. From there, I decided to kind of branch out on my own. I learned how to read guitar tab, and picked up on a couple of new techniques. All while discovering my own style. When I was 19 I joined together with 4 of my friends from high school that I knew played the drums, bass, rhythm guitar, and sang. We formed my first band, All Came As One. We are a Christian Rock band out of Fort Chiswell, VA.Today, we are still together, and going strong. We’ve opened for many big Christian artists, and just got back from Nashville to release our first EP, which is now on iTunes. While in the band, I have learned how to play piano, ukulele, banjo, bass, and harmonize with lead vocals. It really took my talent and passion for music to a whole new level. So, that’s where I’m at now. Just living the dream while attending college. I hope to always be playing music and I intend to teach my kids one day.

In this blog, we will talk about all sorts of different things related to guitars. From pedals, amps, and tones. To famous guitarists, maintenance, and sheet music. Everything will soon to be discussed. I hope you guys enjoy and have a blast in my blog talking to other musicians who have the same passion.

Leave a Reply

